Jets LB Brandon Copeland Given Alan Page Community Award Dan Leberfeld

New York Jets linebacker earns NFLPA’s highest honor for his outreach efforts

*MIAMI – The NFL Players Association announced Brandon Copeland as the recipient of the 2020 Alan Page Community Award at its annual Super Bowl press conference on Thursday. In recognition, the NFLPA will donate $100,000 to Copeland’s Beyond the Basics foundation.

“Receiving this award from the NFLPA and my peers is truly humbling and serves as one of those moments where God lets you know that you are on the right path,” the New York Jets linebacker said. “As I have said before, I hope that the legacy I leave here on Earth is much bigger than just being an NFL player. That is the driving force behind why I work so hard to make a positive impact on the people I cross paths with.”

As the NFLPA’s highest honor, the Alan Page Community Award annually recognizes one player who demonstrates a profound dedication to positively impacting his team’s city and communities across the country, following in the spirit of the Pro Football Hall of Famer and social pioneer for whom the honor is named.

This winter, Copeland demonstrated the power of teamwork and giving. The five-year veteran linebacker put a twist on his annual “December to Remember” by enlisting the help of 11 active and former NFL players across the country: Josh Bynes, Joel Gamble, Duron Harmon, Kerry Hyder, Cam Lynch, Devin & Jason McCourty, Kevin Minter, Kyle Van Noy, Tahir Whitehead and Avery Williamson.

The collection of athletes banded together to host seven different shopping sprees for the holiday season in New York/New Jersey, Tampa, Baltimore, Dallas, Boston and Oakland on December, 16, 17 and 20.

The Week 16 Community MVP kicked off the initiative with a pizza party, during which he surprised 101 kids in the New York/New Jersey area each with a $200 gift card. Through Copeland’s foundation, his NFL friends were able to follow suit, ultimately providing gift cards to more than 300 foster and underprivileged children across the country.

This holiday initiative is one of several done by Copeland’s Beyond The Basics non-profit, which works to empower young individuals to maximize their potential by exposing them to enriching experiences, opportunities and people. Last year, Copeland held his fourth annual youth football camp in his hometown of Baltimore. The 400-plus participants not only learned about the sport but also about the importance of giving back by packing 1,000 book bags with school supplies and hygiene kits.

In March, Copeland plans to host The Basketball Classic: Celebrity Edition at Barclays Center. The outreach effort is meant to fill the stands with people who may not be able to afford an event at the arena so that they can enjoy the charity game as well as a Brooklyn Nets contest that same evening.

“I look forward to using the NFLPA’s generous donation to continue empowering people, whether it be through community events or taking the time to have a simple conversation,” Copeland said. “Honors and moments like this are a humbling sign that the work of our foundation is making a real impact.”

Copeland was chosen as this year’s Alan Page Community Award winner from among five finalists following an electronic ballot vote that was open to all of his NFL peers from across the league. The finalists – Copeland, Geno Atkins (Cincinnati Bengals), Brandon Carr (Baltimore Ravens), Demario Davis (New Orleans Saints) – were selected by an external committee of judges across labor, media, sport and charity from among the 18 Community MVPs awarded during the 2019 regular season.

For more information on the Alan Page Community Award, please visit

Previous Alan Page Community Award Winners*:

2019   Andrew Whitworth, Los Angeles Rams
2018    Chris Long, Philadelphia Eagles
2017    Malcolm Jenkins, Philadelphia Eagles
2016    Thomas Davis, Carolina Panthers
2015    Chad Greenway, Minnesota Vikings
2014    Anquan Boldin, San Francisco 49ers
2013    Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers
2012    Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
2011    Tony Richardson, New York Jets
2010    Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders
2009    Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles
2008    Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers/Atlanta Falcons
2007    John Lynch, Denver Broncos
2006    Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans
2005    Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts
2004    Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2003    Troy Vincent, Philadelphia Eagles
2002    Mark Brunell, Jacksonville Jaguars
2001    Michael McCrary, Baltimore Ravens
2000    Doug Pelfrey, Cincinnati Bengals
1999    Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings
1998    Hardy Nickerson, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1997    Chris Zorich, Chicago Bears
1996    Bill Brooks, Buffalo Bills
1995    Derrick Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs
1994    Mark Kelso, Buffalo Bills
1993    Nick Lowery, Kansas City Chiefs
1992    Reggie White, Green Bay Packers
1991    Mike Kenn, Atlanta Falcons
1990    Ozzie Newsome, Cleveland Browns
1989    Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears
1988    Deron Cherry, Kansas City Chiefs
1987    George Martin, New York Giants
1986    Nat Moore, Miami Dolphins
1985    Reggie Williams, Cincinnati Bengals
1984    Rolf Benirschke, San Diego Chargers
1983    Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns
1982    Franco Harris, Pittsburgh Steelers
1981    Ken Houston, Washington Redskins
1980    Gene Upshaw, Los Angeles Raiders
1979    Roger Staubach, Dallas Cowboys
1978    Archie Manning, New Orleans Saints
1977    Lyle Alzado, Denver Broncos
1976    Jim Hart, St. Louis Cardinals
1975    Rocky Bleier, Pittsburgh Steelers
1974    Floyd Little, Denver Broncos
1973    Andy Russell, Pittsburgh Steelers
1972    Ray May, Baltimore Colts
1971    Kermit Alexander, Los Angeles Rams
1970    Gale Sayers, Chicago Bears
1969    Ed Meador, Los Angeles Rams
1968    Willie Davis, Green Bay Packers
1967    Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers

*Press Release