NFL Competition Committee adds members Craig Thomas

Head coaches JEFF FISHER of the St. Louis Rams and KEN WHISENHUNT of the Arizona Cardinals, along with Green Bay Packers President and Chief Executive Officer MARK MURPHY, have been named to the NFL Competition Committee by Commissioner ROGER GOODELL, the NFL announced today.

Fisher co-chaired the committee from 2002-2010 with current committee chairman RICH MC KAY of the Atlanta Falcons. Whisenhunt has served as a member of the Coaches Subcommittee, which consists of current and former NFL head coaches and makes recommendations to the Competition Committee. Murphy, the Packers’ CEO since 2007, played eight seasons with the Washington Redskins from 1977-84, including two Super Bowl appearances, and was selected to the Pro Bowl following the 1983 season.

The Competition Committee studies all aspects of the game and recommends rules and policy changes to NFL clubs.